Toggle Menu

History of the Hall of Fame

Rock statue: "The spirit of learning is a lasting frontier."The International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame officially began with the desire to provide a mechanism to honor and document the contributions and innovations of leaders in the field of adult and continuing education and to better pave the way for future leaders in the profession.

Dr. Thurman J. White, Vice President Emeritus of Continuing Education and Public Service at the University of Oklahoma, began the discussion of this idea with current leaders and officers of several associations and organizations (University Continuing Education Association, American Society for Training and Development, American Association of Adult and Continuing Education, ECOP/National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges).

After considerable discussion, the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame was incorporated in the state of Oklahoma on September 20, 1995, as a nonprofit corporation. From the higher education groups noted above a Board of Directors was selected:

Thurman J.White, Chair; John C. Snider,Vice Chair; Monroe C. Neff, Executive Coordinator; Betty Ward, Secretary; John Holden, Treasurer. In addition, members-at-large were appointed. These included: Marcia Bankirer, Myron D. Johnsrud, Ken McCullough, James P. Pappas, Edward G. Simpson, Jr. and E.T.York, Jr.


Hall of Fame Founder

Dr. Thurman WhiteThurman White, inducted in the first Class of 1996, is a pioneering contributor to the theoretical base of adult education. He conceived and played an active role in the design and development of the Oklahoma Center for Continuing Education (University Outreach) on the University of Oklahoma’s Norman campus, one of ten W.K. Kellogg Foundation-funded university-based residential conference centers in the world.


view of the hallway with framed photos of the inductees

List of Inductees

Download the Searchable
Inductees Spreadsheet


Virtual Hall of Fame

NEW!! This is a repository to showcase and preserve the published and unpublished works of its members. Free online access.

Search or Submit Members' Works


Contact Us

IACE Hall of Fame

University of Oklahoma Outreach
1700 Asp Avenue
Norman, OK 73072 - 6400

Phone: (405) 325-6361
Fax: (405) 325-7196
(Nina Barbee)


European Hall of Fame

For those interested in events occurring among European members of the Hall of Fame, you are encouraged to visit the website at